The Official Green Door Design for Publishing Wordpress Blog

It’s not good enough to follow conventional methods of design. It is essential to invent & evolve new methods & new ideas. ~ Reginald Mitchell

Uncanny Stories by May Sinclair (Friday Reads)

Confessions of a Creative Writing Teacher

Girl Spooky

Uncanny Stories by May Sinclair (1923, Wordsworth, 2006)

Last year I was very ill. I was able to keep working but I didn’t get out much. One of the ways I dealt with this was to revisit my first literary love, tales of the supernatural. I’ll basically take anything, but my favourites are Victorian and Edwardian.

This is a life-long obsession. My late mother was a Spiritualist and I grew up in an environment in which readings and séances were as natural as church and football, although my father dismissed such things as ‘Codswallop!’ To this day I remain fascinated with the subject, and still a little afraid of ghosts. Anyway, however ill or down I was last year I could always get completely lost in a short, scary story. I have a lot of anthologies in the house, and I worked through all of them, saving a battered and…

View original post 764 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2015 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Follow Us on Twitter

Flickr Photos

Follow The Official Green Door Design for Publishing Wordpress Blog on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

